Los Alamos National Laboratory

Center for
Materials at Irradiation and Mechanical Extremes
A BES Energy Frontier Research Center

John Price Hirth

Hirth received his B. S. and M. S. degrees in Metallurgical Engineering from Ohio State University in 1953. He obtained his Ph. D. from the Carnegie Institute of Technology (now Carnegie Mellon University) in 1958. He was in the U. S. Air Force in 1953-57; a Fulbright Fellow at Bristol University, 1957-58; an Assistant Professor at Carnegie 1958-61; and was at Ohio State University in 1961-1988, being named a Professor in 1964. He was Professor at Washington State University in 1988-98 and is now Professor Emeritus there and at Ohio State University. He has been a consultant at Los Alamos and Livermore National laboratories, 1999-present. He served as Visiting Professor at Stanford in 1968-69 and spent visiting terms at Oslo University, Harvard, Colorado School of Mines, and the University of Mexico.

Awards include the Hardy Gold Medal, AIME, 1960; ASM Bradley Stoughton Award, 1964; ASEE Curtis McGraw Award, 1967; Fellow, ASM, 1971; Campbell Lecturer, ASM, 1972; Jeffries Lecturer, ASM, 1974; Fellow TMS-AIME, 1974; McDonald Lecturer, Canadian Metal Physics Society, 1978; IMD Lecturer and R. F. Mehl Medalist, TMS-AIME, 1980; Matthewson Gold Medal, AIME, 1982; C. S. Barrett Lecturer, ASM, 1986; A. E. White Award, ASM., 1989; Acta Metallurgica Gold Medal, 1989; TMS Electronic, Magnetic and Photonic Materials Division Luncheon Lecture, 1992; ASM Gold Medal, 1994; Dickson Prize for Science, Carnegie Mellon Univ., 1997; Sauveur Award, ASM, 1997, Nadai Award ASME, 1999, and Honorary Member AIME, 2002. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1974, to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in 1992, to the National Academy of Sciences in 1994 and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2005. At Ohio State, he received the Distinguished Research Award in 1979, presented the March 1987 Commencement Address, was named a Presidential Professor in 1987, received the Lamme Meritorious Achievement award in 1993 and an honorary D. Sc. degree in 1995.

His committee activity includes service with the Materials Advisory Board, 1961-64; Chairman of the Physical Metallurgy Gordon Conference, 1967; Chairman, Physics and Chemistry of Metals Committee, AIME, 1967; Chairman, ASM Transactions Committee, 1969, and Materials Science Division, 1972-73; and advisory or visiting committees at the National Bureau of Standards, 1969-72; Argonne National Laboratory, 1969-73; Carnegie-Mellon University, 1968-89; Los Alamos National Laboratory Materials Science Center, 1982-88; and DOE Materials Science, 1987-89. He was on the Board of Overseers of the Academy for Contemporary Problems, 1970-75, and a member of the ARPA Defense Sciences Research Council, 1968-97.

He is the author or coauthor of 510 technical articles, including two books, on nucleation and growth processes, dislocation theory, and physical metallurgy. He was Editor of Scripta Metallurgica (now Scripta Materialia), 1974-1994.




Contact Us | Careers | Bradbury Science Museum | Emergencies | Inside LANL | Maps | Site Feedback | SSL Portal | Training

Operated by Los Alamos National Security, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's NNSA © Copyright 2016 LANS, LLC All rights reserved | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy